Max Mark Cranbrook Peace Lecture and Peace Maker Awards 

All about the award

Each year the Center honors notable individuals and groups who have made a key difference in promoting peaceful relations in the Detroit community or globally.  The Global and Community Peace Maker Award is given in connection with the Max Mark-Cranbrook Peace Lecture; notable winners have included Nobel laureates Hans Bethe, Bishop Desmond Tutu, and Adolfo Perez Esquivel, as well as renowned economist Jeffrey Sachs, UN Undersecretary former Irish President Mary Robinson, Senator Carl Levin, Professor Herbert Kelman, President Janet Jagan (Guyana), and legendary historian and social activist Howard Zinn.


Recent Lectures 

In 2015, the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies honored filmmaker Abigal Disney for her Award Winning Documentary "Pray the Devil Back to Hell." 

In 2016, the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies honored the International President of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom from Japan, Kozue Akibayashi. 


2016 Global and Community Peace Maker Awards 

The 2016 Peace Maker Award winners included Ghana's Rev. Gladys Lariba for her work with the Gambaga Outcast (GO) Home project, Kenya's Ms. Veronica Munchiri for her work with the Presbyterian Church of east Africa (PCEA) National Women's Guild, and Michigan's Ms. Kim Redigan for her work with the People's Water Board Coalition and the Michigan Coalition for Human Rights.

Other global and community activists recognized by the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies

A long list of Community activists recognized with Center Peacemaker Awards have included: Trish Hubbell, Bishop Thomas Gumbleton, Harriet Saperstein, Desiree Cooper, Arlene Victor, Brenda Rosenberg, Ronald and Alan Amen, Ishmael Ahmed, Florine Mark, Alvin Fishman, Rudy Simons, Mort Zieve, Morris Goodman, Helen Samberg, Leonard Grossman, Roberta Cottman, Wendy Hamilton, Bill Meyer, B.N. Bahadur, Mary Ball, William Beckham, Victor Begg,  Keith Bennett; Girija Brilliant, Dr. Larry Brilliant, John Van Camp, Hy Dooha, Zoltan Ferency, Otto Feinstein, Oscar Genser, Joella Hardeman Gipson, Helga Herz, Jennifer Jones, Eleanor Josaitis, Gail Katz, Marjorie S. Katz, Richard Lobenthal, Judge B. Pennie Millender, Judge Claudia Morcom, Ronald Palmer, Kary Moss, Rev. John T. Nowlan, Huel Perkins, Eugene Victor Perrin, Brenda Naomi Rosenberg, Jeffrey Sachs, Helen Samberg; Harriet Saperstein, Lasker Smith; Dr. Herbert C. Smitherman Jr., Senator Buzz Thomas, Joann Watson; Pastor Marvin Winans, Kym Worthy; and organizations including the Cranbrook Peace Foundation, the Michigan Coalition for Human Rights, and the National Conference for Community and Justice.



 ↑ back to top