Center for the Study of Citizenship's Citizenship for Health Initiative

The Citizenship for Health program arose from activities within the Center for the Study of Citizenship (CSC) at WSU. The Center organized meetings with leaders from the School of Medicine, the School of Social Work, the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences that lasted through 2016. Those meetings led to refinement of the concept and toward a retreat with Detroit citizen leaders from a broad array of backgrounds and organizations.

The leadership team that emerged includes Malcolm Cutchin (Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and Co-Chair), Parada Jordan (Integrative Biosciences Center), Michael Kral (Social Work), Marc Kruman (CSC, History, and Co-Chair), Aimée Moran (CSC), Joanne Smith-Darden (Social Work) and Joanne Sobeck (Social Work), as well as Amy Bloom (Oakland County ISD and Chair of the Center's Executive Board).

The Citizenship for Health Program is proud to announce its partnership with the HOPE Village community. The program will be utilizing the Kettering model as a resources for the community to reach its health goals. Currently, the program is recruiting several community members to become part of the team. These community members will assist throughout deliberative democratic process, ensuring the community’s voice is heard.


Photo Credit: Eye for Ebony

 ↑ back to top