The Professor Samuel M. Levin Endowed Award Fund was created by donations to the university to honor the distinguished educational leadership and scholarly contributions of the late Professor Emeritus Samuel M. Levin. Among his many books is Malthus and the Conduct of Life (1967). He was also the author of many essays on education, labor, population, and technology.

Professor Levin served the university and its predecessor institutions for 43 years. Initially in charge of all Social Science teaching at the College of the City of Detroit (later, Wayne University), he was the first Chairman of the Department of Economics, a position he occupied until 1953. His papers are collected in the Reuther Archives of the University.

Each year, the Fund gives out two awards and hosts a lecture. The first award is the Samuel M. Levin Economics Award and it is given to the author of an essay on economics. The second award is the Samuel M. Levin Economics Scholarship and it is given to a current graduate student in the Department of Economics.



Click here for information pertaining to the upcoming 2018 lectiure.




Samuel M. Levin Endowed Merit Award

Maryam Jafari Bidgoli is the 2017 recipient of the Professor Samuel M. Levin Endowed Merit Award for her paper titled "Labor Supply and Health: A Simultaneous Equations Model Approach." Maryam earned a master's degree in economics from the University of Tehran in 2008. She was admitted to Wayne State University in 2010 and earned a second master's degree in economics in 2015. She is currently working on her Ph.D in economics. Her research interests are health and labor.    

For a list of previous award winners click here.


Samuel M. Levin Endowed Scholarship Award

Tamba Yaradouno has won the 2017 Professor M. Levin Endowed Scholarship Award. Tamba earned a bachelor's degree in December 2003 and a master's degree in April 2012, both from Eastern Michigan University. He is currently working on his Ph.D in economics. His research interests are health, labor, and macroeconomics.

Samuel M. Levin Lecture

The 2017 lecture was given by Professor Jens Ludwig. Jens Ludwig is the McCormick Foundation Professor of Social Service Administration, Law and Public Policy at the University of Chicago, Director of the University of Chicago Crime Lab, and Co-Director of the University of Chicago Urban Education Lab.  Click here for a brief biography of Professor Ludwig.

For a list of previous lectures click here.

 Photos from the Event 

This was the 100th anniversary of the first chair of the Department of Economics.

Stephen J. Spurr

Chair, Department of Economics

Judith Levin Cantor (Samuel Levin's daughter)

Judith Cantor and Maryam Jafari Bidgoli


Maryam Jafari Bidgoli

Peggy Daitch (Samuel Levin's granddaqughter)
Stephen Spurr, Tamba Yaradouno, Peggy Daitch Peggy Daitch and Tamba Yaradouno
 Jens Ludwig 
 Stephen Spurr with the recipients of the Christopher Birosak Merit Scholarship in Economics: Lukas Seifert, Saraf Sadique, Siri Sarvepalli




 ↑ back to top