2019 Department of English Scholarship and Writing Awards


On April 26, 2019, the Department of English honored its scholarship and award recipients, 2018/2019 degree-earners, and generous sponsors at the annual Scholarships and Awards Ceremony. This year, the English Department proudly awarded 26 scholarships, 20 creative writing awards, and two special undergraduate awards. Additionally, English faculty earned three teaching/mentor awards, and the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa honor society invited four graduating seniors to become members.

Creative Writing Awards & Scholarships
Judith Siegel Pearson Award
First Place: Kim Shegog, “Breath to Bones”
Second Place: Emma Fagan, “‘So Punk”
Phillip Lawson Hatch, Jr. Memorial Award
First Place: Laura Kraftowitz, “Birthright”
Second Place: Ariel Mokdad, “Decent Recipe for Tabbouleh” and other poems
Honorable Mention: Minahel Munir, “A Blossom of Ink”
John Clare Award in Poetry
First Place: Robert Laidler, “Immured” and other poems
Second Place: Isaac Pickell, “Imbrute” and other poems
Honorable Mention: Teddy Auberle, “A Life in the Day”
Tompkins Award (Nonfiction)
First Place: Laura Kraftowitz, “Birthright”
Second Place: Renee McKendrick, “Unknown Legend”
Honorable Mentions: Joseph Gjelaj, “Under Lights”; Vicky Beacham, “My Anthem of Absolution”; Delani DeGrosky, “Meditation on Toilet Seats”
Tompkins Award (Fiction)
First Place: Saima Mirza, “The Cut”
Second Place: Isaac Pickell, “Fictions of My Mother”
Honorable Mentions: Minahel Munir, “Most Things”; Jaymi Gittens, “Third Grade Circa 2007”
Tompkins Award (Drama)
First Place: Isaac Pickell, “Waiting for the A”
Second Place: Ni-Gea Dufeal, “Constancy”
Tompkins Award (Poetry)
First Place: Robert Laidler, “Immured” and other poems
Second Place: Lindy Lenk, “hems and locks”
Honorable Mentions: Isaac Pickell, “Today’s Lesson”; Saima Mirza, “Connecting Realms”; Amy Loji, “Enmore
The Christopher T. Leland Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing
Laura Kraftowitz
The Daniel Keyes Family Graduate Scholarship in Creative Writing
Creative Nonfiction & Poetry: Renee McKendrick
Fiction: Brody Cunningham
Auto-fiction: Mallory Lectka
The Loughead-Eldredge Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing
Jasmine Pruitt, Amy Salter, Cham Smadi
The Stephen H. Tudor Memorial Scholarship in Creative Writing
Julia Hill
Undergraduate Scholarships & Awards
The Joseph J. & Mary E. Yelda Endowed Merit Scholarship for English
Kristine Anderson, Claire Dingwall, Gabrielle Harris, Negwa Nagi, Nicole Saez, Cham Smadi, Avery Zimmerman
The Gilbert R. & Patricia K. Davis Endowed Merit Scholarship
Michelle Niemi
The Marion K. Ringe Endowed Scholarship
Marcella Robinson
The Dustin Rose Memorial Scholarship
Julia Hill
The Frank X. Williams Memorial Annual Scholarship
Bailey Meyerhoff, Gabrielle Harris
Phi Beta Kappa
Rachel Hackett, Mark A. Lawyer, Amal Shukr, Colleen Kingsbury
Special Undergraduate Awards
Essay Award
Kristine Anderson, “The Performance of Reading: Looking Toward a Reflexive Process”
Distinguished Graduating Senior Award
Lindy Lenk
Graduate and Combined Scholarships
The Paul and Barbara Couture Scholarship in Rhetoric and Composition
Sarah Primeau
The Thomas R. Jasina Endowed Graduate Scholarship in English
Robert Laidler
The Terrance King Endowed Memorial Fellowship in English
Rachel Dortin
The Albert Feigenson Scholarship
Undergraduate: Elizabeth Horejs
Graduate: Hillary Weiss
The Professor Arnold Goldsmith Annual Scholarship
Saima Mirza
The Daniel Keyes Family Endowed Scholarship
Ray Arquero, Cham Smadi
The Doretta Burke Sheill Endowed Memorial Scholarship
Undergraduates: Kristine Anderson, Negwa Nagi, Cham Smadi
Graduate: Molli Spalter
The Pearl A. Warn Endowed Scholarship in English
Undergraduate: Farley McRae
Graduate: Mark Lane
2018/2019 Faculty and Teaching Awards
Wayne State University President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
Lisa Ze Winters, Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Teaching Award
Hilary Fox, Assistant Professor
Garrett T. Heberlein Excellence in Teach Award
Clare Russell, Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of English Excellence in Teaching of Writing Award
Molli Spalter, Graduate Teaching Assistant
Wayne State University Distinguished Faculty Fellowship
Jonathan Flatley, Professor
WSU Graduate School Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award
Chera Kee, Associate Professor
Board of Governors Faculty Recognition Award
Jonathan Flatley, Professor; Chera Kee, Associate Professor
Office of Diversity and Inclusion Champion of Diversity and Inclusion Award
Simone Chess, Associate Professor
WSU Humanities Center Marilyn Williamson Endowed Distinguished Faculty Fellowship
Sarika Chandra, Associate Professor




Interim Chair Dr. Caroline Maun opened the ceremony with these inspiring remarks: “Our today, and yesterday, and tomorrow, along with our thinking, memory and writing, layer together to create an English Department, a Wayne State University.”



Recipients of the 2019 Joseph & Mary E. Yelda Scholarship include (from left to right) Avery Zimmerman, Cham Smadi, Nicole Saez, Claire Dingwall, Kristine Anderson. Not pictured: Gabrielle Harris, Negwa Nagi



Recipients of the Loughead-Eldredge Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing include (from left to right) Cham Smadi and Jasmine Pruitt.
Not pictured: Amy Salter



Julia Hill received the Stephen H. Tudor Memorial Scholarship in Creative Writing



Many of our faculty members were also in attendance! Pictured here (from left to right) are Professors Caroline Maun, Lisa Maruca, M.L. Lieber, Chris Tysh, Renee Hoogland, Richard Marback, and Donovan Hohn
print this article print    Email A Friend email    Share with Twitter   Share with Facebook  

2019 Department of English Scholarship and Writing Awards 5/9/2019
 ↑ back to top