Owen G. Owens received a B.A. degree upon his graduation from the University of California in 1936.  He continued his education there, receiving a M.A. degree in mathematics in 1937 followed by a Ph.D. degree in the same subject in 1941.

Having already taught extensively at various universities since his graduation from the University of California, Owens was appointed to an associate professorship at Wayne State University in 1957, his specialty being partial differential equations.  In 1959, Owens was awarded a full-professorship and continued at Wayne State University until his retirement and Emeritus appointment in 1969.

Professor Owens had professional associations with the American Mathematical Society, and was a member of the Society of Sigma Xi, the American Men of Science, and the New York Academy of Sciences.

Upon his death, Dr. Owens' brother, John Owens, left to the Department of Mathematics a contribution in memory of his late brother.  The Owen Fund was established, and is used to sponsor events in support of the department's research program.  The first annual Owen Owens Memorial Lecture was held in March 1992.


Owens Lecturers

1992Louis NirenbergNew York University
1993Walter RudinUniversity of Wisconsin
1994John H. ConwayPrinceton University
1995Sergey Novikov*University of Maryland
1996Efim Zelmanov*Yale University
1997Mikhael GromovIHES
1998Raoul BottHarvard University
1999R. Tyrrell RockafellarUniversity of Washington
2000Persi DiaconisStanford University
2001David EisenbudMathematical Sciences Research Institute
2002Michael WatermanUniversity of Southern California
2003Sun Yun Alice ChangPrinceton University
2004Sylvain CappellCourant Institute
2005George C. TiaoUniversity of Chicago
2006Thomas C. HalesUniversity of Pittsburgh
2007Robert DevaneyBoston University
2008Stephen Smale*Toyota Technical Institute
2009John Milnor*Stony Brook Institute for Mathematical Sciences
2010Stephen M. RobinsonUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison
2011William FultonUniversity of Michigan
2012Gang TianPrinceton University
2013Neil J. A. SloaneAT&T Labs
2014Douglas N. ArnoldUniversity of Minnesota
2015Luis A. CaffarelliUniversity of Texas at Austin
2016Jonathan Borwein

University of Newcastle

2018Gregory Margulis*Yale University
2019Gilbert StrangMassachusetts Institute of Technology

* denotes Fields Medalist

 ↑ back to top