John Teahan was one of the founding architects of the Clinical Training Program in Psychology at Wayne State University. His theoretical and applied orientation was pragmatic and problem-oriented, often defying attempts to pigeonhole his approach. His commitment to the training program and to students was extraordinary. It is characteristic of John that he wanted to continue supporting the program and its students. To this end, John, his wife Lynn, and daughter, Sheila, established the John Teahan Award. This is given each year to the third-year clinical graduate student who has demonstrated exceptional personal drive in the development of clinical skills and progress in the training program. The student receiving this award receives a gift of $1,000 and his/her name is permanently recorded on a plaque in the Teahan Library at the clinic.   

  1. Applications are accepted from third-year graduate students in Clinical Psychology in the Department of Psychology at Wayne State University.
  2. Recipients will be selected based on a) potential for innovation in Clinical Psychology and b) contribution to solving real-world problems.
  3. Recipients will be selected by a Committee chaired by the Director of the Psychology Clinic including the Director of Clinical Psychology Training, the Chair of the Clinical Area, and the Psychology Department Chair.

The award is presented at the Lachman Lecture, which is organized by Psi Chi and the Psychology Department.  This event is dedicated to Dr. Sheldon Lachman (1921-1997), Professor in the Psychology Department and Psi Chi adviser.   Please visit the Psi Chi web page honoring Professor Lachman.


Award Recipients

2021 - Bridget Murphy 2020 - Jolin Yamin 2019 - Zenaida Rivera

2018 – Kiel Opperman

2008 – Brigid Waldron- Perrine 1998 – Kelli Hill Hunt
2017 – Dana Anderson 2007- Golfo Tzilos 1997 – Pamela J. D'Souza
2016 – Nia Billings  2006 – Patrick Fowler 1996 – Pamela Bukowski
2015 – Maisa Ziadni 2005 – Michelle Leonard 1995 – Catherine Lutz
2014 – Michael Sugarman 2004 – Chie Yumoto 1994 – Ruth Anan
2013 – Annalise Rahman 2003 – Lisa Merlo 1993 – Mark Jacobson
2012 – Amy Loree 2002 – Jay Cohen 1992 – Quintin Poore
2011 – Kathryn Zumberg 2001 – Kara Brooklier 1991 – Janice Tomakowsky
2010 – No Award Given 2000 – Tanya Ergh 1990 – Shauna Tindall
2009 – Jaclyn Heller  1999 – Tina Marie Tojek 1989 – Julie Rummelt
    1988 - Leigh Anne Hohlstein 


 ↑ back to top