Information and Application Procedure

Overview of awards

The Psychology department will present two (2) distinguished undergraduate achievement awards for junior or senior psychology majors in May of 2019.

This prestigious recognition award is based on a combination of criteria including academic performance, service, research, and commitment to the discipline. It is designed to recognize the exemplary performance of high-achieving students in psychology.

 The Undergraduate Committee of the Department of Psychology established this award and serves as the award committee.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Applicants must have declared Psychology as their major. Dual majors are acceptable.
  2. Applicants must have a minimum 3.0 GPA overall.
  3. Students must be juniors or seniors as of the 2018-2019 academic year.

Application procedure

The application deadline is 5 PM on Monday, April 12, 2019.

You can download a copy of the application cover page by clicking here.

The application consists of 5 items: 

  1. The application cover page.
  2. A resume or curriculum vita.
  3. Academic transcripts (copies from Academica are acceptable).
  4. A one-page maximum written statement that describes your achievements and contributions as a psychology major, and any other information that is relevant.
  5. One letter of recommendation, which must be written by a WSU psychology department faculty or staff member.  Letters must be emailed from the letter writer to the Chair of the Undergraduate Committee, Dr. Woodard at   

Applications will be evaluated by the Undergraduate Committee. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Completed applications should be submitted via email to Dr. Woodard, Chair of the Undergraduate Committee, at 


Announcement and distribution of awards

Awards will be announced prior to the Psychology Department Undergraduate Reception held by the Department of Psychology. The Undergraduate Reception is scheduled for May 2, 2019 from 3 pm to 5 pm in the Student Center Undergraduate Ballroom. Winners will be notified in advance of the reception and will be asked to attend the reception to be recognized for the award.



John Woodard, Chair, Undergraduate Committee, email:

Shelly Seguin, Psychology Undergraduate ASO IV, email:

 ↑ back to top