In 2009, Labor@Wayne established the annual “Labor Leaders on Labor Forum” to honor nationally and internationally recognized leaders in the cause of advancing worker rights and the economic conditions of working families.  Each year since, a major labor figure has been so recognized.

  • 2010 - James Hoffa, General President of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  • 2011 - Richard Trumka, President of the AFL-CIO
  • 2012 - Mary Kay Henry, President of the Service Employees International Union
  • 2013 - Joseph Hansen, President of the United Food and Commercial Workers
  • 2015 - Leo Gerard, President of the United Steelworkers

Recipients are invited to give a keynote address on the state of labor on the Wayne State University campus and meet with faculty, staff, students, administrators, public officials, and members of the community.

 ↑ back to top